Central Darling (map) was constituted in 1959; it encompasses an area of over 53,000 square kilometres. The principle economic activities within the Shire include pastoral, horticultural, agricultural, mining and tourism. At least 97% of the shire is devoted to rural grazing. Opal mining is the predominant mining industry having been discovered in White Cliffs in 1884. The first commercial opal field commenced operation in 1890. It reached its peak in 1899 although mining continues today.

The towns and suburbs that comprise the Central Darling Shire include Albermarie, Allambie, Annalara, Appin, Beilpajah, Black Gate, Bono, Bonton, Boola Booka, Boonoona Tank, Cawnalmurtee, Clifden, Conoble, Cop Hollow, Culpaulin, Curran Vale, Darnick, Dromore, Eurella, Fairmont, Gemville, Gilgunnia, Gum Lake, Harcourt, Ivanhoe, Ivanho Crystal Mine, Kaleentha, Loop, Karoola, Komungla South, Lake Menindee, Lake Pamamaroo, Manara, Marfield, Marra, Mena Murtee, Menindee, Moira, Mossgiel, Mount Manara, Nella Gaari, Ornaor, Polvara, Slamannon, Sunset Strip, Teryawnia, Tilpa, Tolarno, Tongo, Torannie, Trida, Wave Hill, Werunda, White Cliffs, Wilcannia and Wongalara.

Central Darling GenWeb Coordinator: Volunteer Required

Return to Far WestGenWeb Hompage

Far WestGenWeb Project

AustraliaGenWeb  NSW Logo WorldGenWeb Project