Wentworth (map) is a town and local government area located at the confluence of the Murray and Darling Rivers. During the late 1800s it was an important river port but with the development of the railway river shipping ceased. Named after the explorer and politician William Charles Wentworth, the area was proclaimed a municipality on 23 January, 1879.

Wentworth Shire incorporates the communities of Ana Branch, Anabranch, Arumpo, Avoca, Balcatherine, Boeill Creek, Bruces Bend, Bunnerungee, Buronga, Burtundy, Cal Lal, Camborn, Colerainie, Coomealla, Curlwaa, Dareton, Darling view, Devils Elbow, Ellerslie, Ellersile North, Garnpang, Gol Gol, Gol Gol Lake, Gol Gol North, Karpa Kora, Kerribee, Lake Victoria, Lock Eight, Lock Seven, Monak, Moorna, Mount Dispersion, Mourquong, Neilpo, Palinyewah, Pan Ban, Para, Paringi, Polia, Pomona, Pooncarie, Rufus River, Tapaulin, Tapio, Trentham Cliffs, Wentworth, Williamsville, Windamingle, Wingillie and Woodlands.

Wentworth GenWeb Coordinator: Volunteer Required










Return to MurrayGenWeb Hompage

MurrayGenWeb Project

AustraliaGenWeb  NSW Logo WorldGenWeb Project