Carrathool Shire (map) is a local government area situated on the Mid-Western Highway, north of the Sturt Highway. The largest town is Hillston and the council seat is Goolgowi.  Where once regular droughts made life almost untenable, the area now has irrigated crops, gardens, greened sporting facilities and village verges. Over 15,000 square kilometres are used in rural pursuits, including more than 600 km˛ in wheat, rice, vineyards, cotton, potatoes, vegetables and orchard trees. Change was made possible by the widespread use of river and underground water.

Carrathool Shire incorporates the communities of Ballandry, Ballyrogan, Benerembah, Binya, Boorga, Bringagee, Budawong, Bunda, Carlisle, Carolgi, Carrathool, Coonara, Cowl Cowl, East Marowie, Eastholme, Erigolla, Goolgowi, Griffith, Groongal, Groongal North, Gunbar, Hillston, Hunthawang, Lake Brewster, Langtree, McKinley, Melbergen, Merri Merrigal, Merriwagga, Monia Gap, Mossgiel, Myall Park, Pindori, Rankins Springs, Rothdene, Roto, Stackpoole, Tabbita, The Peak, Trida, Uardry, Waabalong, Wallanthery, Wee Elwah, Whealbah, White Top, Wilga, Willandra, Willbriggie, Wyvern, Yenda and Yoolarai.

Carrathool GenWeb Coordinator:  Volunteer Required









Return to MurrumbidgeeGenWeb Hompage

© MurrumbidgeeGenWeb Project

AustraliaGenWeb  NSW Logo WorldGenWeb Project