Lockhart (map) is a town and local government area in the Riverina Region. Originally known as Greens Gunyah, in honour of Mr Green an early settler who ran a tavern on the Urana - Wagga Wagga stagecoach route, the town was renamed Lockhart in 1897. Lockhart Shire was created in 1906 and is an agricultural and pastoral area (population circa 1,302).

Lockhart Shire incorporates the communities of Bidgeemia, Birdlip, Boree Creek, Brookong, Brookong North, Bullenbong, Edgehill, Fargunyah, French Park, Galore, Grubben, Henty, Kubura, Lockhart, Long Park, Milbrulong, Mundawaddra, Munyabla, Osborne, Pleasant Hill, Ryan, The Rock, Tootool, Urangeline, Urangeline East, Wppdend, Wrathall and Yerong Creek.

Lockhart GenWeb Coordinator: Volunteer Required











Return to MurrumbidgeeGenWeb Hompage

MurrumbidgeeGenWeb Project

AustraliaGenWeb  NSW Logo WorldGenWeb Project