Liverpool Plains (map) is a geographical and local government area in northern New South Wales. It is primarily flat due to the undulating terrain formed from the remnants of volcanoes, such as those of the Liverpool Ranges to the southwest. To the south and east it merges into the higher and cooler Northern Tablelands.

The Liverpool Plains Council was formed in 2004 by the amalgamation of Quirindi Shire, substantial parts of Parry (Split with Tamworth Regional Council) and Murrurundi Shires, plus small parts of Gunnedah Shire. It has an area of 5,085 km2 and a population of approximately 7,910.

The largest town in the geographical area is Gunnedah although it lies outside the local government area. The largest town within the shire is Quirindi. Other towns include Werris Creek, Wallabadah, Willow Tree and Curlewis.

Liverpool PlainsGenWeb Coordinator: Volunteer Required











Return to NorthernGenWeb Hompage

NorthernGenWeb Project

AustraliaGenWeb  NSW Logo WorldGenWeb Project