New South Wales GenWeb Project
A genealogical research hub pertaining to New South Wales, Australia

A-Z NSW Shires
Online Databases
Transcript Depot
Convict Heritage
General History
Message Board
You Are Here!

Selected contents are
copyright as per the
terms of the GNU Free
Documentation Licence

Link to this website

The Far West region is commonly known as the Outback of New South Wales.  It comprises three major council boundaries - Broken Hill City Council, Central Darling Shire Council and the Unincorporated Far West.

Far West GenWeb (adopt me)

Volunteer Required for the position of Far West County Coordinator.  A County Coordinator maintains the county website and moderates the existing message board.  This is not a difficult position and anyone with basic web editing experience and a genuine interest in the region is welcome to apply.  In addition to web and query maintenance, a County Coordinator also oversees the local GenWebs within its region.  This duty is non-technical as a County Coordinator operates in an advisory capacity only.  Existing Local GenWeb Coordinators and non-locals are welcome to apply for the position.

Join Rootsweb's AUS-NSW-WEST mailing list - suitable for anyone with a genealogical interest in the Western region of NSW from the South Australian border to Brewarrina down to Balranald; includes the towns of Broken Hill, Wentworth, Balranald, Hay, Nyngan, Cobar, Bourke and Walgett.

Broken Hill (map) is an isolated mining city with a current population of approximately 21,000.  Located near the border with South Australia on the crossing of the Barrier and Silver City Highways in the Barrier Range, the town sits 220 metres above sea level.  It has an average rainfall of 235 mm and summer temperatures that hit in excess of 40 C.  The closest major city is Adelaide, which is more than 500 km to the southwest in the neighbouring state of South Australia. Unlike the rest of New South Wales, Broken Hill (and the surrounding region) observes Australian Central Standard Time, UTC+9:30, a time zone it shares with South Australia and the Northern Territory.

The town is more than 1100 km west of Sydney and surrounded by semi-desert.  It is named after the hill on which silver ore was first discovered in 1883 by boundary rider Charles Rasp.  The term 'broken hill' was derived from a series of hills that appeared to have a break in between .  The hills no longer exist having succumbed to mining but the body or ore for which Broken Hill is famous continues to generate economic growth.  Formed about 1800 million years ago, it is the world's largest silver-lead-zinc mineral deposit.

Broken hill suburbs include Alma, Broken Hill, Broken Hill Central, Broken Hill North, Broken Hill Railway Town, Broken Hill South, Broken Hill West and Yanco Glen.

Broken Hill GenWeb Coordinator:  Volunteer Required

^ top

Central Darling (map) was constituted in 1959; it encompasses an area of over 53,000 square kilometres.  The principle economic activities within the Shire include pastoral, horticultural, agricultural, mining and tourism. At least 97% of the shire is devoted to rural grazing.  Opal mining is the predominant mining industry having been discovered in White Cliffs in 1884.  The first commercial opal field commenced operation in 1890.  It reached its peak in 1899 although mining continues today.  

The towns and suburbs that comprise the Central Darling Shire include Albermarie, Allambie, Annalara, Appin, Beilpajah, Black Gate, Bono, Bonton, Boola Booka, Boonoona Tank, Cawnalmurtee, Clifden, Conoble, Cop Hollow, Culpaulin, Curran Vale, Darnick, Dromore, Eurella, Fairmont, Gemville, Gilgunnia, Gum Lake, Harcourt, Ivanhoe, Ivanho Crystal Mine, Kaleentha, Loop, Karoola, Komungla South, Lake Menindee, Lake Pamamaroo, Manara, Marfield, Marra, Mena Murtee, Menindee, Moira, Mossgiel, Mount Manara, Nella Gaari, Ornaor, Polvara, Slamannon, Sunset Strip, Teryawnia, Tilpa, Tolarno, Tongo, Torannie, Trida, Wave Hill, Werunda, White Cliffs, Wilcannia and Wongalara.

Central Darling GenWeb Coordinator:  Volunteer Required

^ top

Unincorporated Far West borders Queensland and South Australia.  It is located in the north-west corner of the State; surrounding but excluding the City of Broken Hill.  It is the most sparsely populated region of New South Wales with only 0.37% of the population (24,490 people at 2001 Census) residing in an area that covers 147,142 square kilometres.  Of those, 86.4% live in the mining city of Broken Hill.  Commonly known as the outback, the Far West is rich in mineral deposits and agricultural initiatives.  Traditional industries such as mining and wool production are making way for new trade which includes goat, sheep meat and horticulture.  It is the only part of NSW not administered by a local council.

The towns and communities of the Unincorporated Far West include Albion, Allandy, Ascot Vale, Avonel, Barrajong, Berawinnia, Bindara, Border Downs, Box Tank, Broughmas Gate, Broughton Vale, Buckalow, Budgeree, Budgerygar, Burns, Burta,  Calindary, Cameron Corner, Churinga, Cobham, Cockburn, Connulpie, Coombah, Cuthero, Egebet Mine, Elisnora, Euriowie, Floods Creek, Fort Grey, Fowlers Gap, Gumvale, Hamilton Gate, Hawker Gate, Horse Lake, Joulnie, Kantappa, Katalpa, Kinalung, Koralta, Langawirra, Little Topar, McDougalls Well, Milparinka, Mootwingee, Mootwingee national Park, Mount Gipps, Mount Westwood, Mulberry Vale, Mundi Mundi, Nantilla, Nanya, Nardoo, Netley, Olive Downs, Onepah, Ourimbah, Packsaddle, Paringa, Paroo River, Pine Point, Pine View, Pinnacles, Poolamacca, Quondong Hotel, Reola, Round Hill, Sanpah, Silverton, Smithville, Stepehens creek, Stephens Creek Pumping Station, Tandou, Tara Tank, Thackaringa, The Gorge, Thoulcannia, Three Mile Creek, Thurloo Downs, Tibooburra, Topar, Topar Hotel, Tor Downs, Triple Chance Mine, Umberumberka, Umberumberka Pumping Station, Urisino, Wahratta, Wanaaring, Waterbag, Waverley Downs, Waverley Gate, Willotia, Wirryilka, Wompah, Wonnaminta and Yelka.

UFW GenWeb Coordinator:  Volunteer Required

© 2017 NSWGenWeb Project  ^ top